I'm ready for my new family!

Hi! My Name Is Shay

I'm Available

I am sweet but tiny. I was born in foster care, and had three siblings. Sadly, one didn't make it, but my two brothers and I are thriving! We were all black in color. I have a tiny white kiss of fur on my neck.

I am taking longer to grow, but I am eating well and love to play with my brothers. Sometimes I want my own space, and like to hang out on a heating pad or in my cat carrier on a fuzzy blanket, with the door left open.

I am not a fan of sitting on laps much, but I enjoy being held. I have a squeaky little voice, and if you talk sweetly to me, I'll give you a soft meow--otherwise, I don't talk much. I am spunky, but have good manners.

I am used to Feline Pine litter.  I prefer one box to pee and one for poop. My litter box MUST be in a private space. Because I am small, I use a low-sided open box (my foster mom found our litter boxes at the dollar store, and they are a perfect size for me!).

Recently, I learned two tricks: how to clean my face and purr! I feel very proud of myself when I'm all cleaned up with a full tummy. It makes me feel purrectly wonderful!

I like hiding in boxes, chasing plastic kitty toy balls (the ones with a jingle bell), and sometimes like to carry a fuzzy toy mouse around with my mouth. I love to play after meals, then I'm ready for a super cute kitty cat nap.

I prefer Fancy Feast wet cat food . . . though I occasionally munch on Purina ProPlan kitten dry food. 

I am gentle with my mouth and claws (which are kept trimmed in front). I don't bite, but if I'm scared, I'll cry. I've practiced wrestling with my brothers, but they can be annoying. I wish they'd just learn I am a pretty princess, and don't want to be gnawed on!

My ideal home would be with another sweet kitty to show me the ropes. I think I would feel lost to be an only kitty. I haven't tried out dogs yet, but I am cared for by my foster mom's young boy, and I trust him. If you have kids that won't chase me or squeeze me too hard, I think we'd become good friends.

If you have a peaceful home, with a spot or two for private naps, I'd love to come home with you!

I will be ready for my new home sometime after the third week of June 2023.



  • Domestic Short Hair
  • Female
  • Kitten (3 - 12 Months) (02/25/2023) - Actual
  • Pennsylvania
  • Black
  • Social & Friendly
  • No
  • I Like Kids Over 6
  • I Like Some Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Livestock
  • I'm Litterbox Trained
Apply To Adopt Shay
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Shay


Please sign up for our newsletter for cat related tips and tricks and to get updates on our cats & events!